BCCI sacks Chetan Sharma-led entire selection committee after T20 World Cup debacle

The Board of Control for Cricket in India took a huge call on Friday, by sacking the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee. The decision comes right after India’s exit from the T20 World Cup.

New Delhi,UPDATED: Nov 18, 2022 21:47 IST

File photo of Chetan Sharma. (Courtesy: Twitter)

By India Today Web Desk: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), reportedly, sacked chairman of the selection committee, Chetan Sharma, after the national team crashed out of the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Harvinder Singh, Sunil Joshi and Debasish Mohanty were the other members of the selection committee, headed by Sharma.

India, captained by Rohit Sharma, made their way out of the tournament after losing to Jos Buttler’s England by 10 wickets at the Adelaide Oval.

It was Sharma who announced the squads for India’s tour of New Zealand and Bangladesh through a video press conference a few days ago.

Back in October 2020, Sharma replaced Sunil Joshi as the chairman of selectors. Under his tenure, India won a number of bilateral series, but failed to perform well in multi-nation tournaments.

The BCCI, in the meantime, invited applications for the position of national selectors for the men’s team. Five positions are open for the same.

The BCCI also put forth the criteria for the applicants. The applicant should have played:

a) A minimum of 7 Test matches

b) 30 first-class matches or

c) 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches.

d) The application should have retired from the game at least 5 years ago.

As per a statement released by the BCCI on Friday, November 18, “no person who has been a member from the Cricket Committee (as defined in the rules and regulations of BCCI) for a total of 5 years shall be eligible to be a member of the Men’s Selection Committee.”

The last date for the applications is November 28, 2022 at 1800 hrs IST.

Team India, for the time being, are currently in New Zealand for a three-match T20I series and a three-match ODI series after which they will tour Bangladesh.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *