India in New Zealand, 1st T20I: Rain hits Wellington, delays start of series opener

India tour of New Zealand: The rain has delayed the start of the first T20 international between India and New Zealand in Wellington on Friday.

New Delhi,UPDATED: Nov 18, 2022 12:13 IST

India in New Zealand: Rain hits Wellington, delays start of first T20I (@BLACKCAPS Photo)

India in New Zealand: Rain hits Wellington, delays start of first T20I (@BLACKCAPS Photo)

By India Today Web Desk: Heavy rain in Wellington has delayed the start of the first T20I of the three-match series between India and New Zealand at the Sky Stadium on Friday (November 18). The toss was pushed back until further notice but more rain has further dampened the chance of play soon, with cover brought back onto the pitch.

As per the weather forecast, heavy rain had been predicted in New Zealand’s capital city for the evening, coinciding with the timing of the match. The Sky Stadium wore a drenched look with the pitch remaining under wraps, as the players were forced to play a waiting game out on the sidelines.

According to the Meteorological Service of New Zealand limited, heavy rain has been predicted in the evening with a chance of a thunderstorm.

“Heavy showers developing this afternoon, turning to heavy rain this evening. Chance of a thunderstorm. Southeasterlies turning northeasterly this evening,” read the statement.

Notably, Hardik Pandya is India’s stand-in captain in Rohit Sharma’s absence in the T20I series against New Zealand, starting in Wellington on Friday. He acknowledged criticism but said India doesn’t “need to prove anything to anybody.”

“We know there is disappointment with the World Cup but we are professionals and we have to cope with our successes and cope with our failures,” he said. “We have to move forward and look forward to get better. We have to rectify the mistakes we made and ensure that it this series we don’t repeat that.”

Pandya said there are a number of new players in the India squad who would bring “new energy.”

“It’s a new bunch, new guys with a lot of new excitement, new energy so it’s going to be quite exciting,” he said. “The next T20 World Cup will be in two years . . . we have time before then and a lot of people will get chances to show what they can do. The road map starts from now.

India Squad: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Deepak Hooda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel.

New Zealand Squad: Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner, Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *