India to host Australia for a 5-match Women’s T20I series in December

India and Australia are set to lock horns in the five-match Women’s T20I series to be played from December 9 to 20 at Navi Mumbai and Brabourne Stadium.

New Delhi,UPDATED: Nov 18, 2022 23:48 IST

India to host Australia for a 5-match Women’s T20I series. Courtesy: Reuters

India to host Australia for a 5-match Women’s T20I series. Courtesy: Reuters

By India Today Web Desk: India are set to host Australia for a five-match Women’s T20I series in December. The first two matches of the series will take place on December 9 and 11 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, while the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai will host the last three matches on December 14, 17 and 20.

Earlier this year, in May, the tour was announced, but other details weren’t fixed. The timings of the five matches are yet to be decided. The upcoming white-ball games are expected to give enough practice to the Indian and Australian teams ahead of the Women’s T20 World Cup, scheduled to take place in South Africa early next year.

The Indian women’s team won their eighth Asia Cup title after beating Sri Lanka in the final at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The Australian cricketers, on the other hand, are currently busy taking part in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) on home soil.

India Women and Australia Women last locked horns in the final of the Commonwealth Games in 2022 at Edgbaston in Birmingham. The Aussies, led by Meg Lanning, won the game by nine runs to win the gold medal.

India were bowled out for 152 in 19.3 overs after being asked to chase down 162. The Women in Blue also lost to the Aussies by three wickets in their first meeting during the event in Birmingham.

Earlier, Lanning took an indefinite break from cricket and it’s not known if she will be a part of the series in India. If the veteran doesn’t return, Australia may have to name a new skipper.

Back in October, Alyssa Healy was named as the team’s new vice-captain after Rachael Haynes retired from international cricket.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *